Glossary 2

Glossary 2

Kaivalya Upanishad - Meaning in English

  • Vairagya

    Detachment from external contacts and objects that cause mental restlessness. Loss of interest in the non-Self.

  • Varnas

    The original varnashrama is the division of society into four Varnas (types) and four Ashramas (stages of life) that cooperate to satisfy the Supreme Being. One's Varna is determined by one's character, qualities, training, and work. The focus is spiritual advancement and spiritual satisfaction for each member of society.

    There are three qualities or Gunas : Sattva (purity), Rajas (passion) and Tamas (inertia). These three qualities are found in all people, but in varying proportions. Each Varna has these qualities in different amounts. One who has pure Sattva alone is a Sage. If Sattva predominates, they are contemplative, wise thinkers who guide rulers of the country, provide spiritual stability to the society, people with a pure mind and good, gentle qualities. If Rajas predominates, they are good, brave, but passionate and activity oriented people. If Tamas predominates, they are dull and ignorant, not prone to enquiry and reasoning.

    Serenity, self-restraint, austerity, purity, forgiveness, uprightness, knowledge, faith in God, Self-Realization are the duties of the Brahmanas, born of (their own) nature. Prowess, splendour, firmness, dexterity, and also not fleeing from battle, generosity and lordliness are the duties of the Kshatriyas, born of (their own) nature. Agriculture, cattle-rearing, trade and business are the duties of the Vaisyas, born of (their own) nature. And other people performing their actions, professional or household, consisting of other services to the community is the duty of the Sudras, born of (their own) nature.

  • Vasanas

    Vāsanā (Sanskrit; Devanagari: वासना) pronounced 'Vaasanaa' simply means smell, fragrance.
    Vasanas: In the spiritual sense, they are deeply ingrained mental tendencies strengthened by repeated thoughts and actions of the same nature. Vasana is a behavioural tendency or karmic imprint which influences the present behaviour of a person. It is a technical term in Hindu religion.
    Past impressions, impressions formed, the present consciousness from past perceptions, knowledge derived from memory, the impressions remaining in the mind.
    Longings, expectations, desires, inclinations.

  • Vastu

    Essence; Substance; Thing.
  • Vedantic

    Vedanta rep­re­sents the philo­soph­i­cal por­tion of the ancient scrip­tures of India, the Vedas. Specif­i­cally, it refers to the final por­tion of the Vedic lit­er­a­ture, the Upan­ishads, but it also includes the Bha­gavad Gita, the great Epics of India, as well as the Puranas, and many other texts, hymns, and writ­ings.

    The basic teach­ing con­cerns the ulti­mate iden­tity of the indi­vid­ual soul with the Supreme Soul. The goal of Vedanta is for the seeker to have the direct expe­ri­ence of his or her True Nature, and it is held that each and every one of us is qual­i­fied to have that high­est illu­mi­na­tion, if we are will­ing to put forth sin­cere and intense effort.

  • Vedas

    The Vedas ("knowledge") are a large body of knowledge texts originating in the ancient Indian subcontinent. Composed in Vedic Sanskrit, the texts constitute the oldest layer of Sanskrit literature and the oldest scriptures of Hinduism. The Vedas are considered revelations seen by ancient sages after intense meditation and self-enquiry.
    There are four Vedas: the Rigveda, the Yajurveda, the Samaveda and the Atharvaveda.
    Each Veda has been subclassified into four major text types –
    the Samhitas (mantras and benedictions),
    the Aranyakas (text on rituals, ceremonies, sacrifices and symbolic-sacrifices),
    the Brahmanas (commentaries on rituals, ceremonies and sacrifices),
    and the Upanishads (texts discussing meditation, philosophy and spiritual knowledge).
    Some scholars add a fifth category – the Upasanas (worship).

  • Venbas

    A Venba is a type of Tamil Poetry Metre. It is one kind of a basic rhythmic structure of a verse or lines in verse.
  • Vichara

    Vichara, Vicharana

    Self-Enquiry; Enquiry within into the nature of the Real I. Who Am I ?
    Who Am I Self Enquiry

  • Vijnanamaya

    Composed of Intellect, the analyzing, rationalizing entity.
  • Vilaya

    Disappearance (of the objective world as a separate entity from oneself).
  • Vimukti

    Salvation; Self-Realization.
  • Vishnu

    Vishnu is one of the principal deities of Hinduism, and the Supreme Being in its Vaishnavism tradition. Vishnu is the "preserver" in the Hindu trinity (Trimurti) which includes Brahma (Creator) and Shiva (Destroyer of Sorrows and provides Cosmic Balance).

    Vishnu is identical to the formless metaphysical concept called Brahman, the Supreme, who takes various avatars as "the preserver, protector" whenever the world is threatened with evil, chaos, and destructive forces. His avatars most notably include Rama in the Ramayana and Krishna in the Mahabharata.

  • Vritti

    Thinking; thought.

Conversations with Ramana Maharshi are rare and priceless. He seldom wrote anything on his own accord. But out of His immense kindness and love, sometimes he answered questions from Devotees on Meditation, Devotion to God and Life. Reading them, contemplating on them and try to practice them are bound to offer great guidance to every true seeker of Real Happiness.

Sometimes Sri Ramana Maharshi used words in Sanskrit or devotional words and scriptural texts. This Glossary provides some insight into those.